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Re: Social and financial impact report—Senate Bill 70 Coverage of Adult Children to 27
Dear Senator Decker and Representative Sheridan:

Pursuant to s. 601.423, Wis. Stat., | am submitting a social and financial report on 2009 Senate
Bill 70, as incorporated and passed in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, relating to mandatory insurance
coverage of insureds’ children until the age of 27.

Prior Wisconsin Law

Prior to the enactment of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, which contained the provisions of 2009 Senate
Bill 70, there was no mandatory coverage of insureds’ children to any particular age. There were,
however, several provisions related to dependent coverage, requiring that:

e If an insurer covers an insured's child, it must also cover the child’s child until the
insured’s child reaches 18 years of age.

e If an insurer covers an insured’s child to a certain age, it may not terminate coverage at
that age if the child is incapable of self-sustaining employment due to mental or physical
disability.

e Ifan insurer covers an insured's dependent because the dependent is a full-time student,
the insurer may not terminate coverage when the dependent ceases to be a full-time
student if the reason for the cessation is medically necessary, until one of a number of
events occurs, for example obtaining other coverage.

e Insurers must cover an insured’s newborn child for at least the first 60 days of life, but
could cancel coverage after 60 days if parents did not notify the insurer of birth or if
parents do not pay the additional premium associated with adding the child.

New Requirements

The mandatory coverage of insureds’ children provisions contained in 2009 Wisconsin Act 28
maintain all of the previous provisions described above, but add several new requirements. After
January 1, 2010:
e Insurers are required to cover an insured’s child as a dependent if the child is unmarried,
is under 27 years old, and is not eligible for coverage through his or her employer at a
premium less than or equal to that of the dependent coverage under the parent's policy.
e Ifan insured’s child is a full-time student that had his or her education interrupted, when
he or she was under 27, by service in the national guard or reserves, the insurer must
offer dependent coverage for as long as the child is a full-time student, regardless of age.



e Insurers must provide the coverage if it is requested, but insurers may require annual

written documentation showing that the child is eligible under the statute.

e Insurers must determine premium on the same basis as for dependents under eighteen.
These new requirements apply to all non-exempt individual and group health insurance policies
and plans, including those offered by the state, and self-insured policies of counties, cities,
villages, towns, school districts, and the state.

Social Impact Factors

Fully insured health insurance products cover approximately 1.66 million Wisconsin residents, or
about 29 percent of the population. This mandate expands coverage for those individuals.
Individuals who are members of groups whose benefit plans are self-funded are exempt from
state regulation by the Employee Retirement and Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) and will
not be directly effected by the mandate. Indirect effects may influence the coverage provided by
self-funded plans, but these impacts are indeterminate. For example, market pressures may
result in a company choosing to provide the mandated coverage in order to continue offering a
competitive benefits package. Self-funded plans cover approximately 35 percent of Wisconsin's
population.

The exemption from state regulation does not apply to self-funded plans provided by a
governmental entity other than the federal government. The law does require self-funded plans
provided by the state or a county, city, village, town or school district to provide the mandated
coverage.

Wisconsin Health Insurance Coverage (2008)

Uninsured All Year
319,000 (6%)

Public Coverage
1,727,178 (30%) Private Insurance

1,663,946 (29%)

Self-Insured
Employers
2,031,916 (35%)

Source: OCI, DHS, DOA, CMS, U.S. Census Bureau



Individuals impacted by the new coverage mandate are primarily ages 18 up to 27. According to
the U.S. Census Bureau, there were 684,550 18-26 year olds in Wisconsin in 2009. Of these
individuals, 135,976 (20 percent) were unlnsured Compare that to Wisconsin's children, ages 0-
17, of which 6 percent were uninsured.! Young adults are one of the largest segments of the
uninsured U.S. population.? This fact has led many states to enact legislation mandating
coverage of adult children. Five states have legislation that equals or exceeds Wisconsin's age
cut-off of 27, and at least 26 states have passed legislation mandating expansion of coverage of
adult chlldren to some extent.®

Health Insurance Status of Wisconsin
Adults Aged 18-26 (2009)

Insured .
548,574 (80%) | Uninsured

135,976 (20%)

Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2009

At this time, the number of uninsured who are eligible for coverage under the mandate is
indeterminate. Some portion of the 135,976 uninsured young adults in Wisconsin have a parent
with a policy subject to the mandate, but there are no estimates of how large the portion may be.
However, it is possible to estimate utilization rates. An informal survey of insurers with a
combined 63 percent share of the Wisconsin group insurance market and 61 percent share of the
individual market found that out of the entire policy membership, an average of 1.7 percent of
large group policyholders, 1.4 percent of small group policyholders, and 0.8 percent of individual
policyholders either added an adult child who had lost eligibility prior to the mandate back onto

1U.S. Census Bureau, 2009.

? Nicholson, J.L., et al., Rite of Passage? Why Young Adults Become Uninsured and how New Policies Can
Help, 2009 Update, The Commonwealth Fund, August 2009.

? Florida, to 30 if the adult child is unmarried and has no dependent children; New Jersey, to 31 if the adult
child is unmarried and has no dependent children; New York, to 30 if the adult child is unmarried; Ohio, to
30 is the adult child is unmarried; and Pennsylvania, to 30 if the adult child is unmarried and has no
dependent children. National Conference of State Legislatures, Covering Young Adults Through Their
Parents’ or Guardians’ Health Policy, September 2010.



the policy or had an adult child on the policy who would have lost coverage had the mandate not
been passed. Of note, the federal government has estimated that 1.2 million young adults will
take advantage of a similar federal insurance mandate that covers adult children to age 26
(discussed below).*

Fiscal Impact

The fiscal impact of the mandate is estimated to be minimal for several reasons. First, prior fo the
mandate, nearly all policies covered adult children to some extent. Of the insurers surveyed in
the course of preparing this impact statement, more than half of the policies covered adult
children up to 25 years old if the adult child met certain conditions such as full-time student
status, financial dependence, and unmarried status. Second, young adults are one of the
healthiest segments of the population. On average, young adults are likely to be below average
risk for insurers. Third, and perhaps most importantly, as of September 23, 2010, the federal
government has mandated coverage of adult children up to age 26 as part of the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA).5 This overlapping federal mandate has major
implications for the fiscal impact of the state mandate. In effect, the state mandate is only
requiring one additional year of coverage than what insurance plans are subject to under PPACA.

According to a fiscal note prepared by the Department of Public Instruction (DPI), there are no
state fiscal impacts and local fiscal impacts are indeterminate. DPI does note that approximately
10 percent of the state’s 426 school districts are self-insured and would therefore incur a cost as
a result of the mandate, but the magnitude of the cost increase is too difficult to estimate with
existing data.

The fiscal note prepared by the Department of Employee Trust Funds (ETF) was unable to
determine the magnitude of state and local fiscal effects, but predicted a cost increase. ETF
found that the mandate applies to the state employee and Wisconsin Public Employer group
health plans. ETF’s consulting actuary estimated premium increases of 1.0 percentto 1.2
percent as a result of the mandate. ETF also estimated a one time administrative cost of about
$20,000. Approximately 3,000 additional individuals would enroll in coverage under the state
employee program, and roughly 460 additional individuals would enroll in local government
employee programs. However, the ETF fiscal note was prepared prior to the passage of
PPACA—it does not take into account the federal requirement that insurers cover insureds’ adult
children to age 26. Therefore, actual costs of the state mandate are likely to be only a fraction of
the originally estimated costs because the state mandate only requires one additional year of
coverage beyond the requirements of PPACA.

Please contact Eileen Mallow at (608) 266-7843 if you have any questions regarding this report.

Sincerely,

Sean Dilweg
Commissioner

4 Caralyn Davis, Extended Dependent Coverage Likely to Raise Premiums, Say Fi eds, May 17, 2010,
available through http://www fiercehealthpayer.com/story/.
5 Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (“PPACA”), Pub. L. 11-148, 124 Stat. 119 (Mar. 23, 2010).



