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Federal Health Care Law
Frequently Asked Questions for Insurers

Disclaimer:

Many of the responses to these questions are based on information currently
available from the federal government. Federal guidance on the Affordable Care
Act changes often and the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance (OCI) will
update this document as new information becomes available.

1. When are insurers selling individual plans required to make their rate and
form filings?
For insurers selling individual plans only outside of the federal exchange,
Wisconsin requires that all rates and forms be filed with the Office of
Commissioner of Insurance at least 30 days prior to the effective date. Under
federal law, insurers selling plans in the individual market must submit each
year a single risk pool rate filing effective January 1 and may only introduce
new plans and revise rates effective January 1 for the following calendar year.

For insurers selling plans on the federal exchange only or both on and off the
federal exchange, the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance is required to
complete its rate and form filing reviews by July 31, 2014. Therefore, Wisconsin
requires that insurers selling plans on the federal exchange file forms with the
Office of the Commissioner of Insurance by June 30, 2014. Per federal
exchange guidance, insurers selling plans on the federal exchange must file
rates with the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance by June 27, 2014.

Following is the timeline for individual market rate filings:

Individual Market

Rate Filing Deadline (for June 27, 2014*
companies seeking QHP * OCI’s review of annual SRP filings is
certification) generally complete within 60 days of

receipt. Filings are reviewed in order of
receipt. ERRP program requirements
provide that OCI rate review findings be
reported to the federal exchange by July 31,
2014.

Rate Filing Deadline (for November 14, 2014

companies with plans subject to
open enrollment)

Rate Filing Deadline (for December 1, 2014
companies with all plans
guaranteed available for all of
2015)
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2. When are insurers selling small group plans in 2014 and/or 2015 required
to make their rate and form filings?
For insurers selling small group plans only outside of the federal exchange,
Wisconsin requires that all rates and forms be filed with the Office of
Commissioner of Insurance at least 30 days prior to the effective date. Under
federal law, insurers selling plans in the small group market must submit each
year a single risk pool rate filing effective January 1. Insurers selling plans in
the small group market may introduce new plans and revise rates each calendar
year quarter following the January 1 submission (April 1, July 1, October 1).

For insurers selling plans on the federal exchange only or both on and off the
federal exchange in 2015, the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance is
required to complete its rate and form filing reviews by July 31, 2014.
Therefore, Wisconsin requires that insurers selling plans on the federal
exchange in 2015 file forms with the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance by
June 30, 2014. Per federal exchange guidance, insurers selling plans on the
federal exchange must file rates with the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance by June 27, 2014.

Following is the timeline for small group market rate filings:

Small Group Market

Type of Rate Possible Rate Filing Deadline
Filing Effective Dates
Quarterly July 1, 2014 30 days prior to rate change effective date*

October 1, 2014 | * OCI’s review of quarterly SRP filings is
generally complete within 45 days of

receipt. Filings are reviewed in order of
receipt. Federal exchange requirements
provide that changes to the QHP Rate Data
Template be submitted 45 days before the
filing effective date. The federal exchange will
not accept a revised Template until the OCI
review is complete.

Annual (for | January 1, 2015 | June 27, 2014*

companies * OCI’s review of annual SRP filings is generally
seeking complete within 60 days of receipt. Filings
QHP are reviewed in order of receipt. ERRP
certification) program requirements provide that OCI rate

review findings be reported to the federal
exchange by July 31, 2014.

Annual (for | January 1, 2015 | December 1, 2014

companies
offering
plans off-
exchange
only)
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3. If an insurer files an application for QHP (qualified health plan)
certification, is the insurer required to participate in the federal
exchange?

No. A qualified health plan designation is required to participate in the federal
exchange, but it does NOT commit an insurer to participate in the federal
exchange. CCIIO has indicated that an insurer will not be committed to
participate on the federal exchange until they sign a contract to participate in
fall 2014.

4. What is the deadline for an insurer to decide to participate (or not
participate) in the federal exchange?
An insurer who wishes to participate in the federal exchange must file their
rates with OCI by June 27 and have their forms reviewed by July 31. An
insurer is NOT committed to participate in the federal exchange until a contract
is signed with the federal government in fall 2014.

An insurer that has filed rates and forms to participate in the federal exchange
and subsequently decides not to participate may re-file their rates and forms
with OCI as long as the filing meets the December 1 deadline.

5. Does the private health insurance market have the same open enrollment
time frame as the federal health insurance exchange?
Yes. Initial open enrollment period — October 1, 2013, through March 31, 2014.
Annual enrollment period — November 15, 2014, through February 15, 2015.

Minimally, insurers must meet the open enrollment time frames required by the
law. Insurers may add additional open enrollment time frames for products
sold off the federal exchange if done on a non-discriminatory basis.

There are also special enrollment periods for an individual or family if they
experience a “triggering event.” Examples of common triggering events include:
(1) loss of minimum essential coverage; (2) gaining or becoming a dependent;
(3) newly gaining citizenship; and (4) becoming newly eligible for premium tax
credits. Individuals and families generally have 60 days from the time of a
triggering event to enroll in new or different health insurance coverage.

6. What are Wisconsin’s essential health benefits requirements?
The federal government has established the essential health benefits
requirements on behalf of the state. Wisconsin information can be found here:
http://cciio.cms.gov/resources/data/ehb.html#wisconsin

The plan language is located here:
http:/ /oci.wi.gov/healthcare_reform.htm

7. Will OCI follow the process outlined in the final essential health benefits
(EHBs) regulation that allows actuarial equivalent substitutions within a
benefit category?

Yes. Insurers are allowed to substitute actuarial equivalent benefits. However,
insurers are reminded that those substitutions must be non-discriminatory.
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8. Recognizing that federal law prohibits annual or lifetime dollar limits on
essential health benefits, can insurers replace dollar limits with other
limitations, such as actuarially equivalent visit limits?

Yes. Insurers may make actuarially equivalent substitutions, in some cases, if
the substitution falls within the rules of the essential health benefits. It is also
important to note that, in some cases, there may be no actuarially equivalent
substitution.

9. Are large group plans required to cover essential health benefits (EHBs)?
No, large group plans are not required to cover EHBs. However, if a large group
plan provides coverage for any EHBs, the plan is prohibited from imposing
annual or lifetime dollar limits on those benefits. Plans may impose non-dollar
limits that are at least actuarially equivalent to any annual dollar limits
contained in the benchmark plan. Imposing visit limitations is an example.

10. How does an insurer know whether its large group plan offerings contain
EHBs?
Insurers may refer to any state’s EHB benchmark plan when identifying
whether its large group plans contain EHBs. As stated in the response to
question 9, large group plans are not required to cover EHBs. However, if a
large group plan provides coverage for any EHBs, the plan is prohibited from
imposing annual or lifetime dollar limits on those benefits.

There is no requirement for large group plans to cover benefits at the level
provided in the benchmark plan or add benefits not currently covered by the
large group plan.

Any large group insurance plan choosing another state’s benchmark plan must
continue to cover Wisconsin state mandated benefits in accordance with state
law. A large group plan may continue to impose dollar limits on a state
mandated benefit if the chosen EHB Benchmark plan does not include the
Wisconsin mandated benefits.

Individual and small group health plans must provide benefits contained in the
Wisconsin benchmark plan and do not have the option to choose a different
state’s benchmark plan.

11. How will pediatric dental work?
The U. S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) provided guidance
regarding coverage of pediatric dental services in the preamble of its final rule,
"Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Standards Related to Essential
Health Benefits, Actuarial Value and Accreditation," stating:

Plans outside of the Exchange may offer EHB that exclude pediatric
dental benefits if they are 'reasonably assured' that such coverage is
sold only to individuals who purchase Exchange-certified stand-alone
dental plans.

OCI is concerned that this inconsistent treatment may result in consumer
harm, create confusion within Wisconsin's competitive health insurance market,
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and create an unfair competitive advantage for health insurance plans operating
inside of the federal exchange. Specifically, OCI is concerned that consumers
may be harmed by purchasing a product they thought contained all EHBs.

Therefore, to ensure that consumer choice is not adversely impacted for those
purchasing health insurance outside of the federal exchange and to ensure a
competitive marketplace for insurers offering health insurance policies inside
and outside the federal exchange, all insurers offering comprehensive individual
or small group health insurance plans in Wisconsin must disclose, prior to the
sale of the policy, whether the plan covers pediatric dental benefits.

Providing this notice with all health insurance policies sold inside the federal
exchange or in the outside market will provide reasonable assurance for health
insurers that consumers are obtaining the coverage they need and want.

For more information, please see our bulletin:
http:/ /oci.wi.gov/bulletin /04 13peddental.htm

12. How will habilitative services be defined?
The benchmark plan selected for Wisconsin does not include a definition of or
coverage for habilitative services. In accordance with 45 C.F.R. §156.115 (a) (5)
(i) and (ii), insurers may either: (i) provide parity by covering habilitative
services that are similar in scope, amount, and duration to benefits covered for
rehabilitative services; or (ii) report to HHS its definition of habilitative services.

When defining "habilitative services" insurers should consider that insureds are
provided the Glossary of Health Insurance and Medical Terms as part of the
Summary of Coverage and Benefits (as required by §2714 of the ACA), that
defines "habilitative services" as:

Health care services that help a person keep, learn, or improve skills
and functioning for daily living. Examples include therapy for a child
who isn't walking or talking at the expected age. These services may
include physical and occupational therapy, speech-language
pathology and other services for people with disabilities in a variety of
inpatient and/or outpatient settings.

For more information, please consult our bulletin on the issue:
http:/ /oci.wi.gov/bulletin /04 13habilitativeserv.htm

13. What are the requirements for a prescription drug formulary?
CCIO requires that insurers cover prescription drugs in at least each

pharmaceutical class, but that insurers must match the same number of drugs
available in each class as the benchmark plan.
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14. Will the state review policy language or rely on certification of
compliance?
Wisconsin will continue to require insurers to certify compliance with key
aspects of Wisconsin and federal law. We are not anticipating changing from
our “file and use” approach to an approach that will require prior approval.
However, we will continue to verify compliance through an analysis of
complaints, market conduct examinations, and targeted market conduct
examinations.

15. Is there potential that additional rate review will be done at the federal
level even though Wisconsin has an effective rate review program?
No. Wisconsin now has an effective rate review process for all markets
including association group coverage.

16. Will policy language variables be allowed as long as the policy also includes
the EHB?
We do not anticipate any change to our requirements that allow these variables
provided the variables meet all the requirements of state and federal law.

17. What are options for insurers who unexpectedly attract a substantial
portion of the market and find that they cannot financially sustain
additional members?

Federal law requires insurers to accept every employer and individual in the
state that applies for coverage, subject to certain exceptions. These exceptions
allow issuers to restrict enrollment in coverage: (1) to open and special
enrollment periods; (2) to employers with eligible individuals who live, work or
reside in the service area of a network plan; (3) in certain situations involving
limited network capacity and limited financial capacity.

18. Are agents required to be appointed with all of the health insurers selling
products on the federal exchange?
No. Agents need to be appointed with insurers whose products they plan to sell.
All state appointment laws remain in effect.

19. Are small employers required to purchase health insurance for their
employees? Are there penalties for not offering coverage?
Employers with fewer than 50 employees are not required to purchase health
insurance for their employees. There are no penalties for not offering coverage.

20. Are large employers required to offer health insurance to their employees?
Are there penalties for not offering coverage?
Federal law requires employers with 50 or more employees who work the
equivalent of 30 or more hours per week to offer affordable health insurance to
their employees. The federal government refers to this as “shared responsibility
for employers.”

The health insurance offered must cover at least 60% of expected claims costs.

Additionally, an employee’s share of the premium for self-only coverage should
not exceed 9.5% of the employee’s income.
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Employers, with 50 or more full-time equivalent employees, who do not offer
their employees health insurance coverage could face a penalty of $2,000 per
employee (but the employer is exempt from penalties on the first 30 employees).
If an employer offers coverage but the coverage is not deemed “affordable” (the
employee’s share of the health insurance premium exceeds 9.5% of the
employee’s income for self-only coverage), employers may face a penalty of
$3,000 for each employee that accesses subsidized coverage through the federal
exchange. The total penalties for not offering affordable coverage cannot exceed
the penalty for not offering insurance coverage at all.

While the effective date for the penalties associated with the shared
responsibility requirement was previously expected to be January 1, 2014, the
federal government announced that it will phase in this requirement as follows:

e Employers with 100 or more employees that offer coverage to at least 70% of
its employees in 2015, and any calendar months during the 2015 plan year
that fall in 2016, will not be subject to the $2,000 penalty referenced above.
They may still be subject to the $3,000 penalty for not offering affordable
coverage. For the 2016 plan year, employers must offer coverage to 95% of
its employees.

e Employers with 50 to 99 employees are not subject to the shared
responsibility penalties in 2015 or any calendar month during the portion of
the 2015 plan year that falls in 2016.

The determination of whether an employer is subject to the federal requirement
to offer health insurance and the extent to which any penalties apply is very
complex. It is recommended that employers contact a tax professional to
understand these issues. Licensed health insurance agents can also be helpful.

Below is a link to the final IRS regulation on employer requirements: Shared
Responsibility for Employers Regarding Health Coverage.

https:/ /www.federalregister.gov/articles/2014/02/12/2014-03082 /shared-
responsibility-for-employers-regarding-health-coverage

21. Will small employers be able to purchase health insurance at any time
throughout the year?
Yes. Health insurers must allow an employer to purchase health insurance
coverage at any point during the year.

However, in the private health insurance market, if a small employer is unable
to comply with employer contribution or group participation rules, health
insurers may choose to limit enrollment of that employer to an annual
enrollment period that begins November 15 and extends through December 15
of each year. SHOP will limit enrollment to that same time frame for employers
who are unable to meet the SHOP participation requirement of 70%.
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22. Are all small employers eligible for the federal small business tax credits?
No. The following requirements must be met for an employer to qualify for the
federal small business tax credits: (1) the employer must have fewer than 25
full-time employees; (2) the average annual wages of employees must be less
than $50,000; and (3) the employer must pay at least half of the insurance
premiums.

The tax credit is worth up to 50% of the employer’s contribution toward
employees’ premium costs (up to 35% for tax-exempt employers). The tax credit
is highest for companies with fewer than 10 employees who are paid an average
of $25,000 or less. Additionally, the credit is only available to small employers
purchasing health insurance through SHOP. Today, to purchase a plan offered
on the SHOP, an employer must work directly with a licensed health insurance
agent or an insurer.

Below is a link to Internal Revenue Service FAQs on the small business tax
credit. OCI is not responsible for the accuracy of the information provided at
that site.

http:/ /www.irs.gov/uac/Small-Business-Health-Care-Tax-Credit-Questions-
and-Answers:-Calculating-the-Credit

23. If employees have access to health insurance coverage through their
employer, are they eligible for federal health care premium tax credits?
No, unless the employee’s share of the premium is more than 9.5% of their
household income or the coverage does not meet minimum requirements.

24. Are there participation rates that must be met as a condition of
purchasing small group coverage in either the private health insurance
market or SHOP?

Insurers offering coverage in the private health insurance market may impose
participation rates consistent with state law.

State law does not allow a small employer insurer to impose more stringent
requirements than the following:

e For a small employer with more than 10 eligible employees, 70% of the
group.

For a small employer with 10 eligible employees, 6 eligible employees.
For a small employer with 8 or 9 eligible employees, 5 eligible employees.
For a small employer with 7 eligible employees, 4 eligible employees.

For a small employer with 5 or 6 eligible employees, 3 eligible employees.
For a small employer with 2 to 4 eligible employees, 2 eligible employees.

The federal Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight (CCIIO)
has indicated the federal SHOP will use a participation rate of 70%.
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25. Will individuals and families be able to use navigators to purchase health
insurance?
No. Navigators, by law, are prohibited from selling health insurance. They are
available to help individuals check for eligibility into public assistance programs
through the federal exchange and help individuals interested in purchasing
health insurance view plan options displayed on healthcare.gov, the federal
exchange Web site.

Even for consumers interested in purchasing health insurance through the
federal exchange, navigators are not permitted, by law, to assess whether one
plan may be better for a consumer than another. Only state-licensed health
insurance agents can provide advice and sell health insurance.

For a list of permitted and prohibited activities related to navigators, review the
July 26, 2013, bulletin posted to the OCI Web site at
http:/ /oci.wi.gov/bulletin /07 13navigator.htm.

26. What are “application counselors” and “assisters”? Can they sell health
insurance?
CAGQCs, like navigators, help individuals check their eligibility for public
assistance programs. CACs also help consumers sort through the health
insurance plans that display on the federal exchange Web site after consumers
enter their preferences.

CACs are not federally funded but must work for an organization designated by
the federal government as a CAC entity. CACs must complete both state and
federal training as well as pass state and federal examinations. State training
and examination requirements for CACs are the same as navigator
requirements. CACs are registered with the Office of the Commissioner of
Insurance and are listed on the OCI Web site at

http:/ /oci.wi.gov/navigator/cac-registered.htm.

If you have concerns with a CAC’s conduct, please complete a consumer
complaint form located at https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/complaints-public/.

Under state and federal law, CACs and navigators are not qualified to and
cannot legally sell health insurance or provide advice to consumers about which
health insurance plan best meets their needs. Only state-licensed health
insurance agents may sell and provide advice about health insurance coverage.

27. Can small employers purchase health insurance from the private health
insurance market? Can they still use agents?
Yes, small employers can purchase health insurance from the private health
insurance market either directly from an insurer or with the help of a licensed
health insurance agent.
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28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

Can sole proprietors purchase group health insurance in the outside
market?

No. Neither federal nor state law allow insurers to sell small group health
insurance plans to sole proprietors. This is the case whether coverage is
purchased through the private health insurance market or SHOP.

When are policies sold to individuals and groups required to be compliant
with ACA provisions?

Insurers have some discretion. Insurers selling plans with an effective date on
or after January 1, 2014, must ensure those plans are compliant. State and
federal law allowed insurers to renew non-ACA compliant plans in 2013, with a
plan year that began in 2013 and ends in 2014. An OCI bulletin is available on
this issue at http://oci.wi.gov/bulletin/1113healthplans.htm.

Are insurers allowed to have renewal dates that are shorter than one year?
Longer than one year?

Prior to January 1, 2014, insurers were allowed to offer early renewals to
policyholders. Federal law specifies that insurers are not allowed to offer
renewal periods longer than one year. However, non-ACA compliant plans are
not subject to this rule.

If a consumer has a renewal date after the open enrollment period, will
they be allowed their own special enrollment period?
Yes, if their current plan is no longer available for renewal.

Who is eligible for federal premium tax credits?

lindividuals and families with incomes between 100% and 400% of the poverty
level, or $11,670 to $46,680 for individuals and $23,850 to $95,400 for a family
of four.

The premium tax credit is refundable so taxpayers who have little or no income
tax liability can still receive the tax benefit.

Below is a link to a premium tax credit calculator available on the Kaiser Family
Foundation Web site. OCI is not responsible for the accuracy of the information
provided at that site.

http:/ /healthreform.kff.org/subsidycalculator.aspx

Are consumers who purchase health insurance in the outside market
eligible for federal premium tax credits?

No. The federal government only offers premium tax credits if health insurance
is purchased through the federal exchange.
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