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Okay, you’ve got notebooks and laptops for your 
power lectures, a futon for the dorm room, and 
snacks (nutritious, of course) for late-night studying. 
Everything’s set as you embark on your college 
journey. But hold on – you might be forgetting 
something. Although it may not seem like a top 
priority right now, insurance is a concern all college 
students need to think about. Having the right type of 
automobile, renter’s, and health insurance can provide 
vital protection during years when most people can 
ill-afford any major financial setbacks.

So you want to take your car to school

Driving is nothing new to you as you go away to 
college, but how you pay for auto insurance may be. 
In high school, chances are you were covered under 
your parents’ auto insurance policy, and if you drive 
a car owned by them at college, you likely will still be 
covered under their policy. But if you own your own 
vehicle, you’ll need an individual auto insurance policy. 

In Wisconsin automobile insurance is mandatory. 
Also, Wisconsin has a financial responsibility law 
that requires all licensed motorists be able to pay for 
damages to others caused in an accident. This can 
be met through insurance, a surety bond, or self-
insurance.

If you decide to meet the financial responsibility 
requirements through auto insurance, auto insurance 
can cover these areas:

•	 Liability: for injuries you cause to other drivers and 
damage you cause to their property when you hit 
them. 

•	 Uninsured Motorists (UM): for treatment of your 
injuries from being hit by an uninsured motorist or 
in a hit-and-run accident. UM coverage has nothing 
to do with property damage; it only involves bodily 
injury.

•	 Underinsured Motorists (UIM): for treatment of 
your injuries when a driver causing an accident has 
lower bodily injury liability limits than your UIM limits. 
Insurers are required to notify you of the availability 
of this coverage, although buying it is optional. UIM 
coverage has nothing to do with property damage; 
it only involves bodily injury.

•	 Medical Payments: for treatment of bodily injury 
you or your passengers suffer in an accident. 
It usually covers only medical expenses not 

covered by health insurance, such as copayments 
and deductibles. Companies must offer you this 
coverage with a limit of at least $1,000 per person 
but you do not have to buy it.

Wisconsin law requires that you must carry liability 
coverage limits of at least $25,000 for the injury or 
death of one person, $50,000 for the injury or death of 
two or more people and $10,000 for property damage. 
The law also requires uninsured motorist coverage 
limits of at least $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury only.

Drivers make choices about what types of coverage 
they will purchase. Liability claims can easily exceed 
the minimum dollar amount required by the law. Higher 
limits are available. Ask your agent for more information 
about the cost of higher limits.

Other coverages to consider:

•	 Collision: covers damage to your vehicle caused 
in an accident, including if the collision was your 
fault or a hit-and-run accident.

•	 Comprehensive: covers damage from other 
causes including theft, vandalism, fire, falling 
objects, animals and deer hits.

Often drivers of older, less valuable vehicles choose to 
lower premium costs by only carrying liability coverage.

There are many factors that go into determining how 
much auto insurance costs including the following:

•	 Your driving record. Insurance companies may 
charge an extra fee, a surcharge, if you are 
involved in a chargeable accident or were ticketed 
for a serious traffic violation.

•	 Your gender. Young, single male drivers generally 
pay more than any other group.

•	 Your age. Young drivers are often considered 
to be a bigger insurance risk than older, more 
experienced drivers.

•	 Where you live. Insuring a vehicle in bigger 
cities, where more traffic and crime exist, is more 
expensive.

•	 Age and type of car. Newer, sportier vehicles cost 
more to insure. The less it costs to repair or replace 
your vehicle, the lower the cost of your premium. 
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There are ways that you can lower your auto insurance 
premium:

•	 Ask your agent about discounts. Many insurers 
offer discounts for good performance in school, 
often for maintaining a grade of B or better. Taking 
an approved driver safety class can also result in 
a discount.

•	 Increase your deductibles. You can significantly 
lower your premium by choosing a higher 
deductible, which is the amount of money you pay 
out of pocket before insurance kicks in on a claim.

•	 Never drive drunk. Not only is it illegal and unwise, 
but a conviction for drunk driving can wreak havoc 
on your insurance premiums. And remember, if 
you’re under 21, Wisconsin’s Absolute Sobriety law 
means you cannot have a single drop of alcohol 
in your system when driving.

Mopeds and Scooters. Due to limited parking space 
and the inconvenience of driving a car to class, mopeds 
and scooters have become more prevalent on college 
campuses. The mandatory insurance law also applies 
to mopeds and scooters. Any insurer that offers 
motorcycle coverage likely offers moped coverage as 
well. Ask your insurance agent for more information 
about moped insurance.

Do I need renter’s insurance?

If you live on-campus in a dorm, your parents’ 
homeowner’s policy may still cover you, although 
they should check with their insurance agent to 
make sure that is the case. If you call an off-campus 
apartment home, you probably will not be covered 
by your parents’ homeowner’s insurance policy. Your 
landlord’s insurance will only cover the building, not 
your possessions.

In this case, you’ll need to think about protecting what 
you own if it is burned up, stolen or carried off by a 
tornado or flood. You should consider purchasing 
renter’s insurance to protect your personal belongings. 
Renter’s insurance also protects you for liability 
coverage in case someone is injured while on your 
property.

When you are deciding how much coverage to buy, 
there are a couple of terms you need to know—actual 
cash value and replacement cost. Say your five-year-
old TV is stolen from your apartment. An actual cash 

value policy would give you what a five-year-old TV is 
worth today. A replacement cost policy would give you 
the amount it takes to buy a new TV of the same kind 
and quality, after you purchase the new TV and submit 
your receipts. Premiums will be higher for replacement 
cost coverage.

The cost of renter’s insurance varies based on several 
factors, including:

•	 Building. Apartments in a structure that is new, 
fire-resistant, and equipped with safety features 
like smoke detectors and deadbolt locks get better 
rates.

•	 Location. High-crime areas with a greater chance 
of theft will lead to higher premiums. Same thing 
with areas prone to natural disasters.

•	 Amount of coverage and the amount of deductible 
you choose.

Other things to keep in mind:

•	 You may have to purchase a rider to extend your 
coverage to include expensive items like jewelry, 
computers, and other electronic equipment.

•	 It is helpful to prepare some type of inventory 
before you have a loss. Write down all your 
major possessions and keep all receipts of your 
purchases. Taking pictures or videotaping your 
belongings is another good idea. Keep your 
inventory record in a safe place, like a fireproof 
safe, or give it to your parents to keep off-premises.  
Smartphone users can download a mobile 
application that will help you identify and organize 
your possessions. The apps for both Android and 
iPhone devices can be found at the OCI Web site 
at oci.wi.gov/consumer/inv-home.htm.

•	 Flood damage is not covered by basic renter’s 
insurance. To protect against damage caused by 
flooding, you’ll need to buy a flood insurance policy. 
The agent who sold you your renter’s insurance 
policy should be able to help you with this.

•	 Some companies may allow roommates to 
purchase a policy together; some may not. Check 
with your insurance agent to determine what 
options are available.
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Am I still covered under my parents’ health 
insurance?

Insurers that offer individual or group health insurance 
policies (including vision and dental plans) and self-
insured health plans of the state or of a county, city, 
village, town, or school district that provide dependent 
coverage of children are required to provide coverage 
if requested to an adult child of the applicant or insured 
as a dependent of the applicant or insured if the child is 
under the age of 26. Coverage must also be provided 
to an adult child regardless of age if the child was 
under 27 years of age when he or she was called to 
federal active duty in the National Guard or in a reserve 
component of the U.S. armed forces while the child 
was attending, on a full-time basis, an institution of 
higher education and the child returns to school as 
a full-time student within 12 months of fulfilling his or 
her active duty obligation. Some policies, known as 
“grandfathered health plans,” may have additional 
limitations relating to coverage for dependent children.

You should check with your family’s health insurance 
company to see if you are still covered under your 
parents’ policy.

If your parents are covered by a managed care plan 
(an HMO or PPO), you will also need to verify if any 
network providers are located where you attend school. 

If you will be going to school in an area out of the 
network of your managed care provider, call your 
insurance company and ask what provisions are in the 
plan. Most have some method of covering emergency 
care while you are out of the network, but routine care 
and follow-up care can only be received in the plan’s 
network service area.

Be sure you have a copy of the relevant health 
insurance cards and know how to obtain any required 
approvals before seeking treatment.

If you don’t have health insurance through your parents’ 
health insurance policy or have limited coverage due to 
network service areas, you may buy a student health 
insurance plan. Student plans are sold by an insurer 
that has contracted with a college to offer coverage to 
its students. In general, these plans have more limited 
benefits and more exclusions than traditional health 
insurance plans.

If you are dropped from your parents’ group health 
insurance, you may have the right to continue health 
insurance coverage if COBRA applies to your plan.

If you are eligible for COBRA, you will be notified of 
your rights under the law and be given a limited window 
of time to opt for the continued coverage. This coverage 
may be expensive as you must pay the full cost of the 
COBRA coverage.

If neither a family plan nor a school-sponsored plan 
is available, you should strongly consider buying an 
individual plan. Beginning in 2014, health care reform 
legislation provides that most individuals are eligible for 
comprehensive individual health insurance coverage 
without any preexisting condition limitations or waiting 
periods. If you are losing existing coverage, you 
may qualify for a 60-day special enrollment period. 
Otherwise, you must wait to enroll until the next open 
enrollment period, which begins November 15, of each 
year. You can apply for individual health coverage by 
contacting an insurance agent or by accessing the 
federal Web site healthcare.gov. Both insurance agents 
and the healthcare.gov Web site can explain your 
coverage options, premiums you will be required to 
pay, and any advanced premium tax credit subsidies or 
cost-sharing reductions for which you may be eligible.

What about insurance coverage if I study 
abroad?

If you participate in an international study program 
through the University of Wisconsin System or the 
Wisconsin Association of Independent Colleges and 
Universities you will be required to purchase medical 
insurance. You should contact the study abroad 
coordinator for more information about the health 
insurance plan offered through the program.

Do I need life insurance?

If you’re single and don’t have dependents, you may 
not consider life insurance a priority. But taking out a 
life insurance policy with a guaranteed issue benefit 
when you are young is cheap and may protect you from 
being uninsurable in the future should you develop a 
debilitating illness or disabling injury. 

Insurance and your credit score

It is important to remember that auto and homeowner’s 
insurance companies may use consumer credit 
information in deciding whether to issue or renew 
policies.

Although companies cannot use credit information 
as the sole reason to refuse an application, cancel a 

https://www.healthcare.gov/
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new insurance policy in its first 60 days of coverage 
or nonrenew an existing policy, in Wisconsin insurers 
may use this information as one of the criteria they 
consider as part of the underwriting process.

Since your credit score can impact the cost of 
insurance, it is vital to maintain a good credit score. 
There are several steps you can take to maintain a 
good credit score:

•	 Pay monthly credit card bills on time.

•	 If you have missed payments, get current and stay 
current.

•	 Maintain a low credit card balance. Don’t max 
accounts out.

•	 Avoid signing up for new credit cards that you don’t 
need.

Under federal law, an insurance company must tell you 
if it takes an “adverse action”—not offering a policy, 
charging a higher rate, etc.—against you due to your 
credit history. You will be entitled to receive a free 
copy of your credit report from the credit bureau—the 
company used to obtain your information.

Additionally, consumers can request a free copy of their 
credit report once per year from annualcreditreport.
com. It is a good idea to take advantage of this offer 
to ensure information in your credit report is accurate.

Final Review

Lastly, a few other things to keep in mind:

•	 Read your policy. An insurance policy is a legal 
contract. It is written so that your rights and 
responsibilities as well as those of the insurance 
company are clearly stated.

•	 Shop around. It pays to shop around. Prices for 
the same coverage can vary greatly. A licensed 
independent insurance agent represents several 
different companies.

•	 Check to see if an agent or company is 
licensed. All insurance companies and agents 
doing business in Wisconsin are licensed by OCI. 
Before buying insurance from a company or agent, 
you can access licensing information at https://
ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci or 
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci.

•	 Problem with insurance. If you are having a 
problem with your insurance, you should first 
contact your agent or the insurance company that 
sold you the policy. If you do not get satisfactory 
answers from the agent or company, you may file 
a complaint (oci.wi.gov/com_form.htm) with OCI. 
OCI will investigate the complaint to see if any 
insurance laws or rules have been violated.

http://annualcreditreport.com
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/ProducerInfo/PrdInfo.oci
https://ociaccess.oci.wi.gov/CmpInfo/CmpInfo.oci
http://oci.wi.gov/com_form.htm
http://annualcreditreport.com
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Brief Glossary

COBRA: A federal law (short for Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985) that allows 
individuals insured under a group health plan to purchase an additional 18 (and sometimes 36) months of 
coverage after being dropped from the plan.

Credit report: A file containing your credit history, maintained by any of the three national credit bureaus.

Deductible: The out-of-pocket expense you must pay before insurance will pay for a claim.

Premium: The price of an insurance policy.

Rider: Additional coverage for items not otherwise covered by your policy. Also called a floater or endorsement.

Underwriting: The process insurance companies use in assessing risk factors of prospective buyers in 
determining whether to insure someone and how much to charge.

Publications

The Office of the Commissioner of Insurance produces and updates a variety of consumer guides dealing 
with insurance. Among the guides you may find helpful are:

A Brief Guide to Renter’s Insurance (oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-017.htm)

Fact Sheet on Continuation and Conversion Rights in Health Insurance Policies (oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-023.htm)

Consumer’s Guide to Auto Insurance (oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-057.htm)

Understanding How Insurance Companies Use Credit Information (oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-204.htm)

Consumer’s Guide to Insurance (oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-051.htm)

A full list of publications can be found at oci.wi.gov/pub_list.htm.

http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-017.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-023.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-057.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-204.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list/pi-051.htm
http://oci.wi.gov/pub_list.htm



